14 April 2011

Denmark: Prince Vincent and Princess Josephine!

The christening of the Danish Crown Prince couple's twins, who were born on 8 January 2011, took place at Holmens Kirke (Church) in Copenhagen today, 14 April 2011. In connection with the baptismal ceremony lead by the Chaplain Royal, Bishop Erik Normann Svendsen, the names of the prince and the princess were finally revealed:
  • Vincent Frederik Minik Alexander
  • Josephine Sophia Ivalo Mathilda
The name Josephine was perhaps not so surprising, but I don't think anyone had expected the prince to get the name Vincent. The names Mindik and Ivalo stem from Greenland.

Prince Vincent's sponsors: Mr. John Stuart Donaldson (brother of Crown Princess Mary), HRH The Prince of Asturias (Felipe of Spain, who was not present), HSH Prince Gustav of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg (son of Princess Benedikte and thus a first cousin to Crown Prince Frederik), Count Michael Ahlefeldt-Laurvig-Bille, Baroness Helle Reedtz-Thott and Lady-in-waiting Caroline Heering.

Princess Josephine's sponsors: HRH Princess Marie (wife of Prince Joachim), HRH Prince Charles of Bourbon-Two Sicilies, Duke of Calabria, Mrs. Patricia Bailey (sister of Crown Princess Mary), Count Bendt Wedell, Birgitte Handwerk and Josephine Rechner.

In attendance for the ceremony and the reception were among others HM Queen Margrethe II, HRH The Prince Consort (Prince Henrik), HRH Crown Prince Frederik, HRH Crown Princess Mary, HRH Prince Christian, HRH Princess Isabella, HRH Prince Joachim, HRH Princess Marie, HH Prince Nikolai, HH Prince Felix, HH Prince Henrik, HRH Princess Benedikte, HSH Prince Richard of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg, HSH Hereditary Prince Gustav of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg, his partner Carina Axelson, (former) HM Queen Anne-Marie of the Hellenes, TRH Prince Nikolaos and Princess Tatiana of Greece and Denmark as well as TRH The Duke and Duchess of Calabria (HRH Prince Charles and HRH Princess Camilla of Bourbon-Two Sicilies. See the Royal Court's website for the complete guest list.

The updated line of succession to the Danish throne:
  1. HRH Crown Prince Frederik (b. 1968)
  2. HRH Prince Christian (b. 2005)
  3. HRH Princess Isabella (b. 2007)
  4. HRH Prince Vincent (b. 2011)
  5. HRH Princess Josephine (b. 2011)
  6. HRH Prince Joachim (b. 1969)
  7. HH Prince Nikolai (b. 1999)
  8. HH Prince Felix (b. 2002)
  9. HH Prince Henrik (b. 2009)
  10. HRH Princess Benedikte (b. 1944)
  11. HH Princess Elisabeth (b. 1935)
See Peter Kurrild-Klitgaard's article Conditional Consent, Dynastic Rights and the Danish Law of Succession for a discussion on the rights of Princess Benedikte's children.


No comments:

Post a Comment